The other day at Portland Lunchtime DGC, my launch from the 13th tee hit a tree and my trusty Shark unfortunately stayed in the tree, until I successfully dislodged it (which wasn’t easy).
So, what do you do in this situation? You take a penalty. Harsh.
According to PDGA’s rule book, section 806.1, the two-meter rule applies here.
" If a disc has come to rest above two meters, as measured from the lowest point of the disc to the playing surface directly below it, the player shall be assessed a one-throw penalty. The player shall then proceed in accordance with 802.02.C.
For a sport full of free-spirits, the game has a lot of rules. In fact, it may be a good idea to download and print PDGA’s 25-page “pocket-sized” rule book.
I’d like to see PDGA add the rule book to their mobile App for convenience, but in the meantime, there’s a PDF which you can print or store digitally for later reference.